A Landmark Celebration



By Shereen Shabnam

 25th Dubai Duty Free Golf World Cup 2017

 The Dubai Duty Free Golf World Cup is always one of the most highly anticipated events in the international travel retail golfing calendar and the landmark 25th edition this year was of course no different.

The two day event saw over 100 players compete in a bid to be crowned the 25th anniversary champion, round 1 was played at Trump International Golf Club and round 2 at Dubai Creek Golf & Yacht Club. This two day stableford event organised by Dubai Duty Free allows their guests to enjoy two stunning golf courses in a fantastic atmosphere amongst friends, guests and colleagues with a whole host of prizes throughout the respective Men’s, Ladies’ and Senior’s Divisions.

Commenting on the success of the tournament, Colm McLoughlin, Executive Vice Chairman and CEO of Dubai Duty Free said: “Thanks to my team at Dubai Duty Free and to Trump International Golf Club and Dubai Creek Golf Club for the successful running of the 25th Dubai Duty Free Golf World Cup. I would also like to thank all our friends from the duty free industry who travel without fail to participate on this two-day competition and made this event truly memorable. This is a great twenty five years of golf and thank you for celebrating with us.”

As part of the celebration, Dubai Duty Free presented a certificate of appreciation to some individuals who have participated in the tournament since its inception in 1993. A special memento was also presented to Mr Colm McLoughlin by a group of industry friends, for spearheading this annual competition and for his contribution to the duty free industry.

Clark Francis was crowned champion of the 25th edition of the Dubai Duty Free Golf World Cup after an outstanding two day stableford points total of 75. And after losing on count-back to the overall champion, it was Antoin Breen prevailed in the Men’s Division to be named the overall local champion.  Making the trip from abroad, the overall visitor winner was James Maxwell clawing his way back into contention after his superb final round of 40 points.

Elsewhere in the Men’s Division, Art Miller and Abdul Aziz Al Akim finished the overall runner up and 2nd runner up after two day totals of 74 and 73 points respectfully. Sebastien Graeff was also awarded for his superb performance, most noticeably firing a day two score of 43 points to be awarded the Special Participation Trophy, the best performance from a guest not directly linked the international travel retail industry.

In the Ladies Division, Amarjeet Radia prevailed to be crowned the overall local winner whilst a total of 66 ensured victory in the overall visitor division for Jessica Beh. In the Senior’s Division, Cees Vandooren claimed the overall super super senior title and Bharat Ghodkhindi was awarded as the super senior winner, Francisco Giles claimed the overall seniors prize, whilst Richard Newman fired identical scores of 36 points to clinch the senior runner up prize.

The most notable performances came from Michael McGinley who was awarded the best gross, Sunil Tuli who claimed day 1 1st place and Martyn Westbury who claimed day 1 2nd place.  At Dubai Creek on Day 2, performances were equally as impressive.

On Day 1, Nancy Miller, Fredrik Gjardman, Sunil Tuli and Antoin Breen showed great accuracy on the par 3’s and were all awarded in the nearest the pin competitions, whilst in the longest drive contest, Naima Maya, Amarjeet Radia, Hannes Messner and Michael McGinley were awarded.  On Day 2, Jessica Beh, Maria Vandooren, Francisco Giles and Raimund Legnar were awarded for their accurate tee shots in the nearest the pin prizes.  The longest drive prizes were claimed by Naima Maya, Amarjeet Radia, James Finnigan and Shibu Thomas.